London

A view of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge.

We finished our trip to London and while I fight jet lag, some random thoughts:

There’s more to the saying “the sun never sets on the British Empire” because in July the sun set around 9:30PM and was up and shining by 4:30AM. With hours like that, yeah, I guess it really was true at some point. I’m used to it being dark around 8:30PM and  until at least 6 to 6:30AM.

I loved being surrounded by history and art and culture and books! It had the energy of a big city but I liked being able to visit castles and visiting places that I read about in books.

I live in the SF Bay Area. I am jealous of a public trans system that works. We even traveled by boat on our oyster cards.

If I go back to London, I’ll pre-purchase an oyster card (or hopefully have a contactless credit card) and an HRP membership.

And when traveling in summer, pack both swimming suits and sweaters even when the news says there is a heat wave. My California girls found some days freezing.

We loved the playgrounds there. They had interesting little play features that we don’t have where I live but we have a lot more water play features, which makes sense since we live in sunny California.

Afternoon tea. I like this ritual. It should be reinstated.

Leave a Reply

